An Update from the President of the
Canadian Radiological Foundation

Ian Hammond, MD, FRCPC, FACR
May 2014

President's Comments

It is my pleasure to highlight the items that have been supported to date by the Canadian Radiological Foundation (CRF) for 2014. These include two scientific research studies, which you can read more about below, and the awards presented at the CAR Annual Dinner and Awards Gala, which took place in Montreal on April 26, 2014 in conjunction with the CAR 77th Annual Scientific Meeting. The CRF Board believes that these undertakings fulfil the essential mandate of the Foundation to advance the art and science of radiology in Canada. This work would not be possible without the generous contributions of our members, and I would especially like to thank those of you who have donated to the CRF.

2014–2015 CRF Board of Directors

Further to the CRF Annual General Meeting which took place on April 26, 2014 at Le Centre Sheraton Montreal, I am pleased to present our 2014-2015 Board of Directors:

  • Dr. Ian Hammond, President
  • Dr. Raquel del Carpio-O’Donovan, Vice President
  • Dr. Gregory Butler, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Dr. Robert Sevick
  • Dr. Bruce Forster

The biographies of our Board of Directors can be found on the CRF website.



Greg Butler.jpg



Ian Hammond

Raquel del Carpio-O’Donovan

Gregory Butler

Robert Sevick

Bruce Forster


The mandate of the CRF is to fund projects which help to shape the future of radiology in Canada. In support of this directive, the CRF supported the following recent projects:

MRI Appearance of Focal Liver Lesions with Gadofosveset Trisodium (second phase)

This study is being investigated by Dr. Laurent Milot, Associate Professor from the Department of Medical Imaging at the University of Toronto.

Neuroradiological, clinical and genetic characterization of new forms of hereditary leukoencephalopathies (second phase)

This study is being investigated by Dr. Donatella Tampieri from the Department of Neuroradiology at the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital in collaboration with: Dr. Bruce Pike, Director of McConnell Brain Imaging Center; Drs. Bernard Brais and Maria del Pilar Cortes from the Department of Neuroradiology, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital; and Roberta La Piana, PhD student and fellow, Department of Neuroradiology, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital.


CAR Annual Scientific Meeting Awards

The CAR Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) is a great occasion to recognize the dedication and tremendous work of our fellow colleagues and to advance Canadian radiology research. In keeping with the CRF's mandate to promote radiology research, the CRF is pleased to have sponsored the following 2014 ASM awards. Congratulations to all the winners!

Educational Exhibit

First place

Michael E. Cody ‒ University of California, Irvine Medical Centre
Duplex Ultrasound Imaging of Dialysis Fistulae and Grafts: Everything a Radiologist Needs to Know

Second place

Kathryn Darras (Roston) – University of British Columbia
Pearls for Interpreting Cervical Spine Images in Trauma

Third place

Adam A. Dmytriw – Dalhousie Medical School 
Medical Emergencies in the Radiology Department

Scientific Exhibit

First place

Matthew Wright – University of Saskatchewan
Radiation Exposure from Abdomen-Pelvic CT Scans in Saskatchewan: Comparison with Historical Effective Dose Levels and Evaluation of Size-Specific Dose Estimates

Second place

Brian O'Meara – Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland
Benefit of a Sharp Computed Tomography Angiography Reconstruction Kernel for Improved Characterization of Intracranial Aneurysms

Third place

Sean A. Kennedy – McMaster University
Appropriateness of Lumbar MRI Referrals: A Canadian Experience


First place

Anthony Vo – University of Ottawa
Magnetic Resonance Imaging for the Determination of Femoral Head Physis

Second place

Helen M. Cheung – University of Toronto
Liver MRI with Gadofosoveset trisodium (Ablavar™)

Third place

Farheen Manji – McMaster University
Comparison of Dual Energy Subtraction Chest Radiography and Traditional Chest X-Rays in the Detection of Pulmonary Nodules








Various awards being presented at the CAR Annual Dinner and Awards Gala

CRF Donations

Please consider making a donation to the CRF to enable us to continue to advance radiology research in Canada. Tax-deductible donations to the CRF can be made by:

  • Donating Online
  • Renewing or becoming a CAR member online
  • Contacting us at 613 860-3111, ext. 0
  • Sending a cheque or money order, payable to the Canadian Radiological Foundation, to:

    Canadian Radiological Foundation
    c/o Canadian Association of Radiologists
    600-294 Albert Street
    Ottawa, ON  K1P 6E6

Thank you to all of our loyal members who have donated generously to the CRF. Below is the list of the 2013 CRF Donors who have given us the permission to publicly recognize them. This list is also posted onto our website.

Alsaadi, Hazem Fraser, James Nolan, Robert
Aquino, José Hammond, Ian O'Malley, Brian
Arora, Anshul Hartery, Angus Otani, Robert
Babyn, Paul Koff, David Pickles, Angela
Bailey, Geoffrey Kribs, Stewart Rankin, Richard
Berscheid, Bruce Larson, Paul and Peg Reed, Martin
Bourgeois, Daniel Lee, Emil Salem, Shia
Chin, Joseph Lévesque, Jacques Sevick, Robert
Clarke, Sharon Lindsay, Daniel Sussman, Sidney
Cramer, Benvon Lyons, Edward Sutherland, I. Scott
Décarie, Patrick-Olivier Malone, Dermot Tomney, Patricia
Desmarais, René Mason, William Tsai, Scott Su-Waye
Dumas, Jean-Marc McInnes, Matthew Vickar, David
Dunlop, Patricia Milot, Laurent Wadden, Nancy
Emel Sari Mujoomdar, Amol Wilk, Jerry
Finlay, Karen Munk, Peter Zylak, Carl
Forster, Bruce Nitsch, Barbara

Please feel free to contact me through the CAR office at with ideas for the Foundation.

“Let’s all invest in our future”
Ian Hammond, MD, FRCPC, FACR
President, Canadian Radiological Foundation